When creating or editing a dashboard, you can select the default filters for your dashboard. So when you or your team view the dashboard, default filters are already applied.
When creating or editing your dashboard, select the "Dashboard Actions" dropdown, and select "Customise Default Filters".
From the right you will have the ability to select the default filters for your dashboard.
When you or your team view the dashboard, it will appear in accordance with pre-selected filters. The filters can be changed by whomever is viewing the dashboard, but it will not overwrite the default filters.
If the filters have been changed on the dashboard whilst viewing (but not through the Dashboard Actions by the creator), the filters will then revert back to the default filters once the dashboard is closed.
You can choose to not select default filters for your dashboards, which means when you or your team view the dashboard, filters can be manually applied. These won't be saved as default filters.
Depending on the Dashboard Widgets you have selected, you can select the default filters for:
- Date ranges
Only the person who created the dashboard can define the default filters. This is done during the creation of the dashboard, or while editing the dashboard.
If you find a dashboard that you like and want to apply default filters to, you can duplicate the dashboard and apply the default filters you need.